UF Department of Psychology

Standing Committees, AY 2017-2018

• Policy and Planning Committee:

Description:

Advisory committee to the chair on a range of issues. Membership consists of the Department Chair, the Associate Chair, each Area director (AD), the Undergraduate Coordinator, the Graduate Coordinator, and the Space Committee Chair.

Members:

Julia Graber (Interim Chair, F'17-Sum'18); Tim Vollmer (Associate Chair, F'17- Sum'18); Jesse Dallery (AD, Behavior Analysis, S'16-); Darragh Devine (AD, Behavioral & Cognitive Neuroscience, F'16-; and Graduate Coordinator, F'17-Sum'18); Ryan Duffy (AD, Counseling, F'14-); Susan Bluck (AD, Developmental, F'16-); Greg Webster (AD, Social, F'16-); Natalie Ebner (Interim Space Coordinator, F'17-Sum'18, Sheppard Sabbatical); Jeff Farrar (Undergraduate Coordinator, F'13-); Brian Cahill (Lecturer, S'17-S'19); Melissa Cervantez (PGSO rep, F'17-Sum'18)

• Undergraduate Studies Committee

Description:

Provides advice to the Undergraduate Coordinator concerning matters including but not restricted to curriculum, award selection, and hearing student grievances.

Members:

Jeff Farrar (Committee Chair, F'13-); Andreas Keil (F'17-); Nicole Dorey (F'17-); Melissa Gluck (PGSO Rep, S'17-)

• Graduate Studies Committee

Description:

Provides advice to the Graduate Coordinator concerning matters including but not restricted to curriculum, travel or other award selection, and student progress.

Members:

Darragh Devine (Committee Chair, F'17); Jesse Dallery (F'14-); Darlene Kertes (F'17-Sum'18)

• Space Committee

Description:

Provides recommendations concerning utilization of space, identification of laboratory space for new faculty, and any other issues relating to space.

<u>Members:</u>

Natalie Ebner (Interim Committee Chair, Member F'12-); Willie DeLeon (F'17-); Lori Knackstedt (F'17-)

*James Shepperd (Sabbatical, F'17-Sum'18; Committee Chair, F'07-);

• Merit Committee

Description:

Reviews annually the faculty's Annual Activity Reports (AARs) and provides evaluative scores and summary comments that may assist the department chair in preparing annual letters of evaluation, determination of merit raises (if any), and other matters relating to professional progress. Members elected every spring for two-year terms.

<u>Members:</u>

Neil Rowland (BCN, S'17 & S'18); Dorothy Espelage (COU, S'17 & S'18); Ken Swan (LEC, S'16, S'17, & Appointed additional year, S'18)

 Members to be elected S'18 for a two-year term: Behavior Analysis, Developmental, Social

• Graduate Selection Committee

Description:

Responsible for organizing and/or overseeing the prioritizing of graduate applicants with respect to admissions and financial support. Responsible for assuring an appropriate distribution of awards and award types (e.g., fellowship, teaching assistantship) across the areas of the department, and in relation to target numbers to be admitted.

<u>Members:</u>

One representative from each of the five areas. TBD.

Ad Hoc Committees, AY 2017-2018

• Participant Pool Committee

Description:

Reviews faculty requests for research participants through SONA each semester, and determine appropriate allocations.

<u>Members:</u>

Kate Ratliff (Committee Chair, F'13, Renewed in F'17); Margaret Bradley, in perpetuity; Brian Cahill (F'17-)

• Jacquelin Goldman Fellowship & Scholarship Program in Developmental Psychology, Awards Committee

Description:

Oversees the Goldman awards program. Responsible for determining deadlines and annual announcements of award competitions, reviewing applicants, and selecting award recipients. The Committee Chair will also record annual expenditures and review the availability of funds and spending commitments on a regular basis.

<u>Members:</u>

Darlene Kertes (F'15-; F'17 Committee Chair); Lisa Scott (F'17-); Dorothy Espelage (F'17)

New Psychology Building Committee

Description:

Provides recommendations regarding the development of a new building, including input about design issues, consideration of space needs in the future, and possible selling points for donors.

<u>Members:</u>

Lisa Scott (F'15-F'17; Committee Chair); Willie DeLeon (F'15-F'17); Lori Knackstedt (F'15-F'17)

• Social Media Committee

Description:

Implements and maintains a departmental presence in social media outlets.

Members:

Lori Knackstedt (Committee Chair, S'16-); Ryan Duffy (S'16-); Lisa Scott (S'16-)